Tribal Development Department, Government of West Bengal
                    T  T  T  T 

Special Education Schemes

Ekalavya Model Residential School

To provide quality education to Scheduled Tribes Boys and Girls from Class VI to XII, seven ‘Ekalavya Model Residential Schools’ are functioning in the State in the following Districts (1) Bankura (2) Purulia (3) Burdwan (4) Paschim Medinipur (5) Jalpaiguri (6) Birbhum (7) Dakshin Dinajpur with funds from Government of India and the State Government. These are English Medium Schools under the West Bengal Board of Secondary Education.
Each school has a capacity of 420 students. The students who are admitted to these schools are provided with scholarships, free food and lodging etc., Computer education has also been introduced in all the schools from class VI.

Feeder Schools

The English Medium Primary Schools from class I to V are feeding the ST girls and boys students to Ekalavya Model Residential Schools. The students passing Class – V in the feeder schools normally join the Ekalavya Schools in Class VI. The ‘Ekalavya Model Schools’ under the scheme will eventually come under CBSE Board. Stipends are provided for 1500 boys and girls of these feeder schools in seven districts of this State.

Pandit Raghunath Murmu Residential Schools

Government of West Bengal decided to construct 9 (nine) residential schools for ST students in the districts of Bankura, Purulia, Burdwan, Paschim Medinipur, Purba Medinipur and Jalpaiguri from Class V-XII in the name of Pundit Raghunath Murmu, eminent cultural reformer and inventor of “Olchiki” script for the Santali language. These are Government sponsored Bengali medium recognized by the West Bengal Board of Secondary Education and West Bengal Council of Higher Secondary Education. Eight Schools have been recognized and started functioning. The Schools are managed by the School Education Department.

Belpahari Residential Girls’ schools for Tribals

The residential school for tribal girls at Belpahari, Paschim Medinipur under the management of BCW Department is running. There are 380 tribal girls studying in the school from Class I to Class – XII. All students are provided free food and lodging.

Dr. B R. Ambedkar Medha Puraskar

A total 625 ST students are selected for award of Dr. B.R. Ambedkar Medha Puraskar on the basis of the result in the X –Standard examinations conducted by West Bengal Board of Secondary Education, the West Bengal Madrasa Board, ICSE and CBSC. The meritorious students of each district get the award. The prize consisting of a Cash Award of Rs. 5000/- and a Certificate of Merit is awarded in a special function.

Special educational development of ST Girls students through distribution of bi-cycles

ST girl students studying in class IX-XII in the LWE affected Blocks of Bankura, Purulia and Paschim Medinipur Districts were provided bi-cycles during 2012-13. In 2012-13, 9097 nos. of ST girl students were covered. During 2013-14, it was decided to extend the benefit to all ST girl students studying in Class IX to XII in the State. Arrangements have been made for procurement of 60457 no. of bicycles. Distribution completed for nearly 12000 girl students during 2013-14.
What's New

  Copyright © Tribal Development Department, Government of West Bengal
This website is best viewed in 1600x900 Resolution, Browser: Google Chrome
India Portal
West Bengal Portal
GOI Web Directory